I want to be careful not to be too harsh on this book. Laurell K. Hamilton – so it says – is a #1 New York Times Bestselling Author after all.  But I really couldn’t get into this at all.  I have nothing against paperback, but when there are 23 other books in this series about Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter, I doubt I am the target demographic.

There was more cliché in the first few chapters than I could stand. The dialogue was unrealistic. I can’t stand when authors feel the need to describe what everyone is wearing when they walk into a room.  It’s no wonder she was able to fill 612 pages!  Is this why everyone though the Twilight series was so good?  Is the bar for vampire fiction just set so low?

Rating = 0

Leave a Reply

