The bar code sticker that my library put on this book is hiding a very important bit of information –  “Dungeons and Dragons.” *sigh* I have nothing against Fantasy Fiction, but it is such an over-saturated genre, that I have to reserve judgement till the end of a book. D&D however, has never been “my thing.” I can’t decide how much I care that this is mislabeled as Sci-Fi when it clearly is Fantasy. I understand that libraries do this all the time, and do I really want to nerd out that bad?

This is the third book in a six book series called The Sundering. Each book is written by a different author, which just highlights the massive strength of community that is D&D. It is full of all the requisite spells, made-up race and place names and fighting.  The love story aspect is not overplayed, so kudos to the author for not shoving that down our throats.  Although I was a little disappointed at the end of the book. After the main story line has been tied up, she spends the next few chapters – albeit short ones – going back over every little sub-plot and trying to create more suspense.

Ultimately this is a story about a girl trying to protect her loved ones from those who are trying to punish them for the sins of their ancestors. It does get rather exciting toward the middle when the hero is trapped in a tower and her friends and family have to decide whether she has betrayed them all or if they should try to save her. The characters will discover that they are all pawns in a game much bigger than they could have imagined.

Like I already intimated, this wasn’t really my kind of book. In the fantasy genre, I tend to prefer the older writing style of authors such as C.S. Lewis, Tolkien, or George MacDonald. That said, I probably wouldn’t recommend it.

Rating = 2

Leave a Reply

